Alaska to release upcoming album, "DRAG: The Musical." (Image: DRAG: The Musical/ YouTube)

Alaska just announced upcoming album, 'DRAG:The Musical'

On Tuesday, “Drag Race” OG Alaska announced her upcoming album, DRAG: The Musical (Studio Recording). 

Fellow drag stars will be joining Alaska on the album. This includes the likes of, Bob the Drag Queen, Peppermint, Monét X Change, Jujubee, Ginger Minj, Divina De Campo, and “RuPaul’s Drag Race,” judge Michelle Visage.

Other featured artists are Fortune Feimster, Margaret Cho, Nick Adams, Max Von Essen, Jamie Torcellini, Jack Rodman, and New York City queen Lagoona Bloo.

Tomas Costanza and Ashley Gordon assisted with co-writing all the songs featured on the album. 


Alaska revealed the album plot, which follows the story of two drag bars competing against one another in order to survive financial hardships. Reportedly, creators are working on plans to bring the story to life onstage later this year. 

Alaska originally competed on “RuPaul’s Drag Race” season 5 where she placed runner-up. Then Alaska was invited to join season 2 of “All-Stars” where she ultimately prevailed the competition and took home the coveted title and crown. 

“At its core, the musical is inspired by the family bond that drag queens have together, Alaska told EW. “And just like family, we may not always get along, but we find a way to support one another and love one another. " 

"I want to bring people into the world of drag," Alaska's continued. "It's a world that might not always be glamorous and sparkly.  In fact, at times it can be slimy and disgusting.  But I love it and I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world."

Get your hands on the anticipating album starting May 13. In the meantime, be sure to check out the official trailer down below! 


The Drag Society X Raja box is shipping SOON! Don’t miss this incredible curation — subscribe to Drag Society today!
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.