'Drag Race' just announced spin offs in these three countries

'Drag Race' just announced spin offs in these three countries

World of Wonder just announced they would be working with Hong Kong-based distributor O4 Media to release versions of the popular drag competition series in South Korea, Singapore, Japan, and India. 

The show format will likely be similar to other versions. Various drag queens from these respective countries as they put their charisma, uniqueness, nerve, and talent to the test in the search for the coveted title of Next Drag Superstar.

In addition to the news iterations, the press release also revealed the brand will be revamping the Thailand series, which currently has two seasons available for streaming.  

In a statement, World of Wonder co-founder Fenton Bailey said: “O4 Media [has] a strong reputation and great contacts across Asia. It is really important to us that Drag Race is supported by a passionate team as we identify the right broadcast and production partners across Asia.

The new set of series joins the rapidly expanding list of international spinoffs. This includes Drag Race Thailand, Drag Race Philippines, Chile’s The Switch Drag Race, Canada’s Drag Race, Drag Race Holland, Drag Race UK, Drag Race España, Drag Race Down Under, Drag Race France, Drag Race Italia, Drag Race Belgique, Drag Race Brazil, Drag Race Germany, and Drag Race Mexico. 

In fact, show’s expansion comes a few days after Canada’s Drag Race: Canada vs the World released its first trailer.

Where do you think the ‘Drag Race’ franchise should head next? Let us know in the comments below!

Hey queen! Don’t miss our exclusive curation, including the one and only fashion RAJA! Subscribe to Drag Society today. 

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.