The GLAAD Media Awards will take place on April 8.

What to expect at the 2021 GLAAD Media Awards

Although award shows this year remain virtual, the 2021 GLAAD Media Awards promises a colorful celebration of LGBTQ media. The organization previously announced the 32nd annual show will take place on their YouTube on April 8, 2021.

For those who may not know, the award is given by the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation. Its purpose is to recognize and honor the media for representations of the LGBTQ+ community and coverage of issues.
via Instagram

Celebrity appearances

Together with the help of some famous faces, GLAAD will celebrate the prominent work of LGBTQ allies. As a result, we can expect some amazing artists! Katy Perry, Sam Smith and JoJo Siwa plan to attend. Respected talents of the likes of Sterling K. Brown, Laverne Cox, Dan Levy, Jim Parsons and Jonathan Bennett are sure to bring a smile to anyones face!

RuPaul's Drag Race favorites, Bob the Drag Queen, Eureka O'Hara and DJ "Shangela" Pierce will also pop in to say hello. Other nominees include Bretman Rock, Molly Bernard, Matt Bomer, Wilson Cruz, Mackenzie Davis, Robin de Jesús, Blu del Barrio, Nyle DiMarco, Colman Domingo, Clea DuVall, Brandee Evans, Anthony Rapp and the cast of Veneno. However, there are many more! Check out the complete list of 2021 nominees.

GLAAD previously announced that actress Niecy Nash would serve as the event's host, following her coming out in 2020. "I am so thrilled to be hosting this year’s GLAAD Media Awards, honoring the LGBTQ stories and images that change the world by growing acceptance and understanding," she said in a statement.

Glee Reunion to pay tribute to Naya Rivera
via Instagram

Whats more, the cast of Glee is reuniting to honor the life of late actress Naya Rivera and to celebrate the 10th anniversary of her character Santana Lopez coming out.

Confirmed co-stars include Jacob Artist, Chris Colfer, Darren Criss, Vanessa Lengies, Jane Lynch, Kevin McHale, Heather Morris, Matthew Morrison, Alex Newell, Amber Riley, Harry Shum Jr., Becca Tobin, and Jenna Ushkowitz. Singer Demi Lovato, who played Santanas girlfriend on the show will also take part in the tribute.

New TikTok Award

GLAAD also partnered with TikTok to award the "TikTok Queer Advocate of the Year," a special recognition highlighting users of the social media platform that have promoted LGBTQ+ visibility. The nominees are: Denise & Ebony, Kyne, Crissa Jackson, Chris Olsen, Ian Paget, Josh Helfgott, Ve'ondre Mitchell, Austin Chiang, MD MPH, and Christine Marshall.

To repeat, the show premieres on GLAAD's YouTube at 8 p.m. ET. The ceremony will also be made available on Hulu at 10 p.m. until the end of June for those who want rewatch!

Grab a celebrity drag queen curated box with a Drag Society subscription!

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.